Life From A Miracle Baby to 5 Years of Age

My life started when I was born January 26, 1962.  I was born as a miracle baby with 6 health symptoms that has taken a lot of time to overcome.  It has taken until now at 51 years of age to accomplish a lot more than what I could or did when I was at the baby stage of my life.  The symptoms were: 1) poor circulation, 2) blood sugar level, 3) blood pressure level & still are: 1) chronic allergies, 2) slight case of cerebral palsy (memory blockage), 3) pigeon-toed.  Life was hard for me as I was being a baby & my mom had to always see about my health through a physician or doctor.  They would make sure I was still in good enough health to keep me from staying in the hospital.  I was a fighter before I even knew what that word meant.

As a baby, I would crawl real fast because I could.  I was happy to be who I was at the time with everyone always around me.  I had fun & loved being the center of attention then.  I would sit on everyone’s lap when we were at a social gathering for all the relatives every summer at the family reunion.  There were always aunts, uncles & cousins who would take care of me when there was an activity to do for adults.  They loved giving me the attention all the time.  At the time the food was ready, I was sitting in a high chair & being fed by spoons & out of a jar.  My mom would change my diapers most of the time unless my aunts or female cousins would do that instead of my mom.  Everyone was always teaching & guiding me on ways to walk.  It was really fun & productive sometimes.  My parents actually taught me after everyone else had tried getting me to walk a lot.  they would use their first forefinger on each hand to help me as I wrapped my fingers around their one finger to keep me balanced & hold me up while I built my muscles in my legs & feet.  My parents took me to church on Sunday mornings & would always learn discipline whether I used it or not.  I would cry some & most of the time just fell asleep & then on Wednesday nights, I would go with my mom because my dad worked at nights.

As I grew up from 2-5 years of age, I was always having toy metal cars, vehicles & heavy equipment out just as I saw from the car or in pictures from books.  I would create towns & long highways going from my room to the front door & turn around.  I was always pushing them one at a time in a line of about 50-100 vehicles without the heavy equipment.  I would stop sometimes & use the heavy equipment on the side to act as if I was really doing heavy dirt hauling & moving dirt elsewhere.  It would take me a few hours as I moved them round trip & would always ruin the knees in my pants.  during that time, I would stay active a lot.  I was a very active kid eating more than 3 meals a day which included a lot of snacks too.I had breakfast of all types of eggs, bread or toast with butter & jelly or sugar, oatmeal, cream-of-wheat, 3) non-sugared & sugared cereals, bacon, sausage, omelets, bread pudding, etc.  For lunches were usually soups & sandwiches while my mom made supper for us all.

I was taken to Denver Children’s Hospital a few times during the ages of 2-5.  This was done every 6 months for checkups.  I had a great doctor who knew how to get me to recover when I was low on blood sugar or blood pressure levels.  I had a mishap of being taken to the doctor & waiting with my parents which would happen a lot after playing & not thinking about eating as much & just burn my body down.  My parents would need to keep me thinking about eating when my metabolism was very high Z& I was very energetic.  They would sit me in a high chair & then given a plate of food & just lose consciousness from my blood pressure & sugar levels being low enough.   I once was taken to the hospital to see my doctor for a checkup, & while waiting, I had just let myself relax & fell off of the seat where I was & landed on floor.  I guess I didn’t have much pulse so they took me in & found I didn’t have much blood sugar in me.  I got to stay at hospital when I was 5 years of age.  The doctor gave me sugar & orange juice to really raise my blood sugar up then.  Giving me this skyrocketed my sugar & pressure levels to the max.  Then I got to leave the hospital after a couple of days to start fresh again.

I was a curious kid like “Curious George” because I was given permission to get into my parents’ trunk where I was getting something for them & ignored it to get what I thought was something more impressive.  I got a bumper jack out of the trunk instead.  I pulled the bumper jack shaft out like I saw my dad do, but never thought it would be hard to hold onto.  I got it out & it just slid out of my hands & hit my big toenail on my right foot.  That really hurt a lot!  I was crying outside & my parents came out & I got scolded by my dad & my mom comforted me a lot.  They had to take me to the hospital & have the swelling brought down & finally after that, they removed my toenail.  I had my other toenails go bad like that  one which was like animal nails.  I had that for a long time.

When school came time to open, I went to kindergarten at the age of 5.  I was going to school in Denver when we were living off of Mississippi & Pierce.  From there we moved to Space City Center or Lochbuie which was another little spot off of the main highway.  I changed schools & was seeing the country for the first time ever.  From being in kindergarten to being a junior in high school, I stayed there & was a country kid learning how to fight & be pushed around which I thought was no fun when I was younger.  My self-esteem was low & had to get a change to be around other kids in the country, too!

Rodney Gottier

Leave a Reply

